Find Your Voice and Speak

japanesewomangivingthankstothecreatIt is interesting to me that when I tell people that I write, their response is: Really? I ‘m thinking about writing a book too. It is as if the world has decided that the best way to speak is to write. Now, far be it from me to discourage anyone from pursuing their calling. And I do believe that we all have a voice. We all have something that we want or need to say and there is someone out there who needs to hear it. Yet there are so many ways to speak; the written word, spoken word (includes singing and rapping, acting). And there are numerous ways to do it. Find your way, because when you do you will be articulate, inspiring and in a nutshell, effective.

I am not an artist. All of my drawings resemble stick figures from display boards from a courtroom. I don’t bother. My son is an excellent artist who spends hours alone at his craft. He speaks to the world through colors and black and white sketches with fine lines and shading. I am amazed and impressed. But mostly I am in awe at what he says through his work without uttering a word. I sometimes, say to him, “Boy I wish I could do that.” I don’t really mean it. I have other means of saying what I need to say. We all do. And when you find it, it won’t be laborious or arduous, although it may be hard work. But you will engage in it with such passion the world is grayed until you are done speaking. And when you lift your head to admire your work and have others do the same you will find an audience captivated by what you have said. Find your voice and speak.

About Dorcas Graham

I have been a professional writer for more than 20 years; primarily technical writing and freelance journalism. My passion for fiction writing brings me here. Now I have the opportunity to pursue what I love! My debut novel, In Three Days is now available on Amazon.com and Barnesandnoble.com. I'm happy to share this exciting journey with you. In addition to updates of what's happening, I will also add tidbits of information and writing tips I have learned along the way. I welcome your comments. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in December. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

