Good information. Thanks, Michelle!

Michelle Stimpson.com

In the past eight years, I’ve been around the block a few times with publishers. Four different publishers, to be exact. Below are a few of the lessons about publishing contracts that I’ve learned from my own mistakes as well as the advice of my agent. My prayer is that this advice will be helpful to a new writer who is about to sign a super-wonderful contract. Believe!

Image

1. No Linking Royalties

In a multi-book contract, make sure the royalties will be paid separately. Reason being: If you have three books and the third one doesn’t do so well, you don’t want the publisher to subtract from your royalties on the first two, which have earned over and above their advance. Everyone (including you) is taking a risk with every single book, so let each book’s royalties stand alone.

2. Reversion of Rights Policy

Make sure that there is a…

View original post 533 more words

About Dorcas Graham

I have been a professional writer for more than 20 years; primarily technical writing and freelance journalism. My passion for fiction writing brings me here. Now I have the opportunity to pursue what I love! My debut novel, In Three Days is now available on Amazon.com and Barnesandnoble.com. I'm happy to share this exciting journey with you. In addition to updates of what's happening, I will also add tidbits of information and writing tips I have learned along the way. I welcome your comments. Enjoy!
This entry was posted in December. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

